Fan Art Friday

Hey guys! I know I haven’t posted about my personal art stuffs in a while, so I thought I would let you have a little peek at what I’ve been drawing. A lot of my recent stuff is fan art for various things, but I’ve got some original stuff to show you too. It’s funny, normally I don’t do a lot of fan art, but now there seems to be a proliferation of it in my sketchbook which has accumulated over the past few months.

 

The Dragon Prince

This TV show was created for Netflix by the head writer of Avatar: the Last Airbender, Aaron Ehasz. Though not as good as Avatar (but can anything be better than Avatar, really?), it is an excellent show, with good writing, compelling characters and a sense of humor very similar to ATLA. The story is set in a world where the races of elves and men are separated from each other and on the brink of war.  Two human princes and an elven assasin become friends and embark on a quest to return the egg of the dragon prince to the elf/dragon kingdom in order to prevent further conflict (The egg was stolen by humans). I really enjoy this show and love watching it with my family.

IMG_6549[1]
Elven Assassin Rayla
IMG_6550[1]
Prince Callum
 

**SPOILERS FOR THE END OF SEASON 2 AHEAD**

Seriously, though, if you want to watch this show and haven’t yet, skip this next part.

So at the end of season 2, Callum learns sky magic and effectively becomes an airbender. There’s this one scene in the first Kyoshi Island episode where Aang tries to impress the Kyoshi warriors and villagers by airbending marbles after they find out he’s the avatar. I thought it would be fun to do a parody of that moment with Callum and Rayla, since Callum has airbending powers now.

Aang and his marbles

IMG_6551[1]
Sketches for the comic
TDP parody

Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU)

So, Avengers: Endgame came out not too long ago. I’m a huge marvel fan, and I’ll admit that I was counting down the days until I could see the movie. About two weeks before, I realized I had never drawn any MCU fan art, which is crazy because it’s my favorite fandom. So to remedy this, I decided to draw an avenger every day before I saw the movie. That ended up being about 12 days.

IMG_6553[1]IMG_6552[1]IMG_6554[1]IMG_6555[1]IMG_6556[1]IMG_6557[1]IMG_6558[1]IMG_6559[1]IMG_6560[1]IMG_6561[1]IMG_6562[1]

I had a lot of fun drawing these characters. Rocket and Groot were the hardest to draw because they don’t have very human-like faces, especially Rocket. Groot doesn’t have a nose, which bothers me. I enjoyed doing Hawkeye because it allowed me to draw figures doing archery. I need more practice drawing characters with weapons. Tell me which one is your favorite!

 

Other Doodles

Earlier this month I wanted to commit to doing Mermay, where you draw a mermaid every day based on a prompt, similar to Inktober. However, May is a very busy month for me. Finals are coming up in all my classes, and there are lots of end-of-the year events to go to. So I haven’t been able to do Mermay, even sporadically like I did with Inktober, but I did draw a couple mermaids the other day.

IMG_6564[1]

On May 4th (May the fourth be with you) the prompt was Star Wars, so I did Queen Amidala as a mermaid. The figure on the right was a quick sketch of Zelda Fitzgerald as a mermaid, because I had just watched Midnight In Paris, which I adore.

I also did some character design a while back. The prompt was “child knight.” I first thought of a crusader, like some kind of young Joan of Arc. Then sketched a samurai warrior, the Japanese counterpart to a western knight. I couldn’t decide on which design I liked better, so I figured, why not both? A comic series where a knight and samurai travel the world together could be really cool, so I may do more with these two later. I don’t have names for the characters yet, so if you want to suggest something that would be helpful.

IMG_6566[1]

IMG_6567[1]
Final designs

I’m almost done with all my school projects, so I think I’ll be posting a recap of all my 2D design pieces for the year. I won first place in the painting category at a local art competition for one of my watercolor pieces, and they’ve put a print of it in the nearby airport. Stay tuned for more content soon!

Thanks for reading,

Artemis

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑